Why is feminism so successful in Taiwanese society and what are the problems it makes?

Feminism is a hot topic in recent years, and it is happening in the United States and Taiwan, but it is not happening in Japan, we all agree Japan is strong in many aspects. The most obvious is Japanese tourism and Japanese culture, including animation, music, food, etc., is also integrated into the lives of Taiwanese people. In terms of sports competitions, Japanese volleyball, Kou Shien, basketball, professional e-sport, etc. all win Taiwan, but only the women ’s rights are low (Shu-Lan Zhuang, 2014). However, Taiwanese feminism has been very strong in gender equality issues in recent years. But the question is what does it make this happen? In this essay, we will understand why Taiwanese feminism is so successful in society and what makes the “ Princess Syndrome” issues in young ladies. Taiwanese feminism is successful in national society, with more than a quarter female members of Congress and the first president (BBC, 2016). These achievements make Taiwan ’s feminist rights ranked fourth in the world. In Taiwan, 87.3% and 75.1% of men and women over the age of 25 received high-level education and there is no difference in high-level education between the male and females. In a neighboring country Japan, men receive as high as 91.7% of high-level education, but only 79.4% for women. The historical issues of Japan are still more serious in Japan than in Taiwan and that is the main reason why Taiwan can surpass Japan and in feminism. However, the United States, which is the best example of a democratic country but ranks 38th in the global gender inequality index. The main reason is that the United States has a higher crude birth rate of underage girls, which decreased the ranking of the United States. In addition, the proportion of female congressmen in the United States is only 17%. And it is not outstanding enough in global performance. But why feminism is so successful in Taiwan, did feminists in Taiwan do anything? Taiwanese feminist has worked on it and hardly for a half-century, a famous feminist woman name Fan-Yun organized the history of Taiwanese feminism history, The first stage of feminism Anne Lu proposed new feminism in 1971, and secondly is the stage of expansion which means women's News Magazine was established in 1982, The third stage of diversified development unlocked in 1987, and the fourth stage from the differentiation routes to the establishment the female right on society from 1990 until now. As we mentioned earlier, feminism in Taiwan was prevalent after the 90s, so children born after the 90s, especially girls, were born in a full of feminism era, they have not experienced what is gender inequality. In Taiwan, women have the same rights as men. Because of this, girls are loved like princesses by patients, and children born in the 1990s grew up watching Disney animations, the prince saves the trapped princess fairy tells affects girls deeply, so it causes another issue called “ Princess Syndrome” (Ciara-lee Durand, 2015). To cultivate the temperament of their daughters, many parents dress their children like " princesses " from an early age, but is being a princess the best choice for a girl? According to a survey conducted by the journal "Child Development" (Wen-No Wu, 2018), the role of princesses will have a " gender frame effect" on young children, which will hurt their future lives. Those girls who play with Disney princesses will have more obvious gender stereotypes after one year. They want to look like princesses more than others and they feel less confident. These girls who like princesses usually don't like to play games outside because they are afraid of getting dirty and think that they have no "femininity" in this way. To cultivate the temperament of their daughters, many parents dress their children like " princesses " from an early age, but is being a princess the best choice for a girl? According to a survey conducted by the journal "Child Development"(Sarah M. Coyne, 2019), the role of princesses will have a " gender frame effect" on young children, which will harm their future lives. Those girls who play with Disney princesses will have more obvious gender stereotypes after one year. They want to look like princesses more than others and they feel less confident. These girls who like princesses usually don't like to play games outside because they are afraid of getting dirty and think that they have no "femininity" in this way. They also believe that being a girl means that her life will have different opportunities such as a handsome rich man will get into my life in the future. If parents encourage this kind of stereotyped behavior, it will affect girls long-term. The researchers also said that this kind of "feeling oneself princess girl " is more likely to give up on challenging things, may not want to work in the future, and will be particularly concerned about her shape. But boys who have been immersed in Disney cartoons since childhood have a more positive impact. Research has found that boys who like to play with Disney toys are more confident in their bodies and more kind to others the reasons are quite interesting, but we are not going to discuss this today (Sarah M. Coyne, 2019). In summary, the rise of feminism is a good thing for society in Taiwan, but a part of women will use this advantage to achieve personal benefits (Shu-Lan Zhuang, 2014). They don’t want to work hard to get results, it is unfair to others, and it is unacceptable. Therefore, how to find a perfect balance between the two will be a very important topic for feminists, not just for Taiwanese feminists but for all over the world, to find a true pathway thought equality gender in the future.