Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, many people believe that the purpose of higher education should be to build work-related competency. On the other hand, however, there is a body of opinion that holds that the real aim of the study is to explore one’s academic interest. In this essay I will examine both sides of the debate to seek a conclusion. To begin with, it has been observed that graduate unemployment is a mounting problem, which can partially be explained by the fact that too many people still qualify in fields where there are too few employment opportunities. Moreover, the current economic climate is driven by science and technology, so there are good grounds for giving preference to related subjects in higher education. This would create a positive cycle of increased funding for college science departments, which in turn could provide better equipment and training for the future hi-tech workforce. On the other hand, the very word “university” means “everything”, reflecting the fact that human knowledge grows not by setting bounds on areas of study, but by open investigation of all disciplines. Moreover, it is logical that if individuals are allowed to investigate what they are genuinely interested in, their chances of success are likely to be higher and the results of their research more valuable. In addition, younger people in schools deserve to receive an overview of all study areas, which would not be possible without graduates in every relevant field to teach them. To summarize, there is no doubt that universities are designed to give free rein to academic inquiry in all disciplines. At the same time, however, a realistic appraisal of the economy suggests that technical majors are more marketable. In the final analysis, therefore, we can only conclude that institutions should allocate more places to practical subjects, while reserving some for outstanding students in other areas.