More people put their personal information online (address, telephone number…) for everyday activities such as socializing on social networks or banking purposes. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

For the time being, public personal information on social media has never failed to provoke controversial debates among people. People even put their personal address or telephone number for a wealth of functions. I would contend that though this tendency can bring various unprecedented cases to some certain extents, it may do more good than harm. Without a shadow of a doubt, putting private data online plays an imperative role in making human life more convenient. In the fast paced society, people may immerse themselves into heavy workloads, which restricts them from getting a chance to date or make friends with others. By setting a general profile within some simple tasks, people can take advantage of social media as a wide network for them to meet and have a chinwag with strangers. Furthermore, they can save time while still building new relationships with others. Facebook can be cited as a solid instance for giving people the online platform to put personal perspectives and socialize with the community. Hence, it is undeniable that private information on the Internet helps users to easily get access to friends in a proper and less time-consuming way. Although some redeeming features of publicizing information into the online network are widely acknowledged, it is unfair if the disadvantages are not mentioned. Personal information spreaded gives a huge source for hackers to abuse that and carry out some wicked acts such as stealing money or kidnapping. For example, Tinder, one of the most notorious dating applications, has been overused to set up some organizations trading women as commodities and delivering them to China illegally. This not only poses a threat for users safety’s policies but also raises the alarming issues of putting information online that needs some promptly resolutions from administrations. To sum up, despite some undesirable situations made by anonymous hackers, updating private information on social networks contributes to human’s interconnecting at anytime and anywhere.