Personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern world, our daily lives heavily rely on the services of large companies such as GAFA: google, amazon, Facebook, apple. Many people take it for granted, while others started to be concern about the negative impacts of technology. In my opinion, this trend is more harmful than beneficial to both society and individuals. It is true that their services are convenient from several aspects. First of all, companies that record people shopping history or past text messages can find expected criminals in advance. In fact, some uprisings were successfully constraint due to the swift response toward overshadowing messages. In addition, people can save time and resources, by giving personal information including bank account numbers, birth date, personal tastes. For example, the Google search engine remembers users' tastes and show collected information according to anticipation(premise). On the other hand, there are significant drawbacks. Some companies may utilize social power only for their profit. For instance, Facebook is criticized for the arbitrary manipulation of information during the U.S. election period. What is worse, flaws in data security may cause serious damage to people's social image. In fact, there are some celebrities who killed themselves after the private messages are accidentally exposed to the public. In conclusion, global companies which accumulate personal information have positive and negative influence on both society and individuals. Considering recent sad news related with big information companies, I strongly believe that the disadvantages should not be underestimated and further actions of regulations will be longed for.