Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

It is true that while there are a large number of college students being housed with their parents, others choose to move out from their families’ embrace to settle in other places. There are considerably some benefits along with drawbacks under both circumstances Living with parents may be too protective that the students could not have enough experiences about the outside world. As a result, they would have a tendency to keep themselves in their comfort zones because many real issues, including the most basic tasks, have already been tackled by their parents. For example, students would not have to pay for the tuition fees and even the monthly rents and other service bills because their parents would take responsibility to pay for them. In contrast, students living away from home may feel homesick and isolated when experiencing new environments. Thus, they would spend more time travelling back to their home to visit their parents, especially on special occasions and holidays. Students living in their parents ’ homes may have more time to spend on studies and other activities such as taking part in clubs. Besides, their concentration levels in studies are much more improved as they do not have to be concerned about arousing problems, compared to ones moving out. These problems are already taken care of by their parents. In terms of staying away from families, graduates can seize the opportunities to develop their soft skills and life experiences owing to meeting people from different backgrounds. In addition, these students can also raise their sense of independence. To recapitulate, there are both benefits and drawbacks to university students when considering moving away from families or staying with them.