Every country should have a free-health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that free health care system is supposed to be available for everybody, even if it does not guarantee access to expensive medicines and modern methods of treatment. I tend to agree with the concept when everyone deserves the right to live healthy life regardless of their economic or social status. According to statistics, many patients all over the world fail to get any kind of medical service at all because they just cannot afford it. Age, household income, and personal circumstances play a deciding role in ability to pay full price. Assuming that every government’s core function is to meet the needs of population, it would make sense to fund the provision of healthcare services by means of public health facilities or mandatory health insurance. For example, Germany has implemented the Insurance law, which obliges companies to save a certain portion of salary from the workers in sick fund. Nonetheless, there is a downside of such a strategy. Apparently, free healthcare can degrade the quality of service and make even impossible to provide access to high-quality and costly technologies of treatment. Therefore, some patients with non-chronic and rare diseases could face problems while seeking ways and means of cure. For instance, children in Russia with SMA (spinal muscular atrophy) disease are dying without almost any chance to stay alive, just because government is refusing to pay two million euros per one injection, which saves life in 100%. To conclude, I believe that social wellness programs provided by governments should exist and ensure acceptable level of medical therapy for every citizen from any background at little or no cost. Meanwhile the latest approaches and technologies could remain payable or partly subsidized by state.