Creative artists should always be given the freedom to express their own ideas (in words, pictures, music or film) in whichever way they wish. There should be no government restrictions on what they do. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It is certainly true that the freedom of speech has always been a contentious topic for many people. While some believe that entertainers should feel free to produce any artwork they choose, others think that governments should apply censorship to the arts. Personally, I am convinced that artistic expression should not be suppressed; however, I agree that some restrictions may be necessary. Undoubtedly, free communication is essential to the preservation of a free society and a creative culture. In fact, genuinely talented people usually cannot control their way of thinking; for example, Salvador Dali, who was an outstanding artist, used to say that he was literally travelling in a parallel universe while drawing. Therefore, creative professionals might fail to produce extraordinary artwork if they were under a strict control. Besides this, the freedom of expression is usually guaranteed by the constitution of many countries. In spite of these considerations, lack of control over the arts may lead to a number of dangerous consequences, including the spread of libel and mass disorders. For instance, I can vividly remember how the popularization of caricatures of the prophet Mohammed on the Internet resulted in the anarchy within Muslim countries. Also, some artwork may be inappropriate for children due to its cruelty or vulgarity; there is no doubt that young boys and girls are increasingly being exposed to pornography and violence. In conclusion, I believe that entertainers should have the option to express their thoughts. However they want provided that adequate censorship is in place to restrict the access to potentially offensive works of art.