Many students have to study subjects which they donot like. some people think this is a complete waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

Certain individuals are of the view that it is pointless for learners to do courses that are not their favourite. I totally agree with this outlook. The essay discusses the reasons for this position such as content obtained but not used in work situations and missing out on other courses that could have aided their employability. First and foremost, it does not make sense for students to gain so much theory and knowledge from subjects which they will not utilise in their jobs. This, to a greater extent, is not only useless but encourages them to copy and crame content rather than internalise and understand it contextually. For example, National History is one general course that you find students of medicine in Zimbabwe cramming only for the exam because they see it to be of no value to their future careers. I wonder why they continue to include such pointless subjects. Secondly, while studying unrelated lessons, the learners miss out on fundamental courses that can potentially guarantee them to work after graduation. Courses, and not only grades, as recorded on the transcript are usually critical for use by human resource departments to separate graduates with the same degree names. For instance, many people hold accounting degrees but a company may hire certain graduates over others simply because they have learnt more courses in management accounts. So, the courses one selects in their program matter therefore colleges must not provide useless options. Conclusively, through this essay, I fully agree with the perspective that when students study subjects they don't like, their time is wasted. This happens as they focus on irrelevant content and do lessons that will not enhance their chances of getting employed after school.