In the past, people lived in one place for a long time, but now they can live in many different places, what are the reasons? Is this a positive or negative development

Exposure, awareness and social media have enabled the population at large to diversify. This means that ancient practices of staying in one locality from childhood to old age have long been forgotten and individuals are able to travel far and wide and reside in a residence of their choice. Therefore this a positive development as we can see from the reasons below. First, people used to stay in one place because interacting with other communities would mean adopting the cultural activities of others. Initially, culture was treasured a lot in the past and it was taboo to go against the cultural norms of a community. As a result communities developed their own social amenities for fear of their culture fading away. Another reason why people were confined to one place is the lack of awareness. Social media has created awareness of the various amenities available in different parts of the world. The fact that people can live in different places is a positive development since different communities can interact hence intermarriages and cultural exchange. This is of great importance as it will diminish community conflicts and encourage individuals to embrace each other. Living in various places also helps people to share ideas which will enhance national development. In conclusion, as much as staying in one place could help preserve the culture of a community, the advantages of moving to different areas are more. Thumbs up to social media which has helped greatly in creating awareness and opening up the community to the outside world.