Some people think that information outlets nowadays have sensationalized and influenced people’s lives in negative ways. Others disagree and say that is also positive. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is undeniable that entertainment and media have been an integral part of modern culture. People's life are under the influence of news channels and social platforms. Consequently, one viewpoint suggests that the development is detrimental to people's life, whereas other people oppose such perspective and argue that the change is positive. Personally, I only partially believe both sides, and this essay aims to discuss both views and to elaborate my opinion regarding the topic. The impacts of news programs and online platforms such as Facebook or Reddit can be harmful to the daily life of people. Firstly, to start off, authoritarian intervention into news networks can spread misinformation that benefit the ruling regime. This possibility is morally wrong, as no one should be deprived access to correct, scientific knowledge. While it is true that such scenario is considered extreme, it has already happened in modern China. Due to the funding of the central government into broadcasting companies and stations, the ruling party can spread information such as the good side of the country to stroke nationalism, while hiding matters such as the lack of funding for companies or the mistreatment of ethnic minority in the northern areas. Moreover, the daily life of citizens can also be affected through the misinformation about health and science. In America, where people can search for "scientific" studies which are not correct but rather suit their opinion, groups such as antivaxxers and flat earthers exist because there are information on news broadcast and the Internet that sustain these groups. Conversely, many people would argue that today news channels and media can provide people with beneficial knowledge and educate people about unknown matters. First and foremost, the availability of the Internet, or rather the knowledge on the Internet, is staggering. There are thousands of documents about every subjects imaginable to scientific fields such as physics or biology to creative industry including art, literature, and music. The vast quantity of information people can study from the Internet is one of the many benefits digitalization can bring. Furthermore, with the globalization process comes the requirements for knowledge about international events. Therefore, news channels on TV or on the Internet can be advantageous as they provide information to the public. Personally, I firmly believe that while modern information outlets can provide free information and latest new around the globe, they are also a platform for misinformation and political purposes. The importance of free speech is undeniably essential, the severity of spreading false information cannot be forgotten and should be judged correctly.