A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people think that values such as integrity and honesty have become unessential and the only important thing is the amount of wealth a person has. I strongly disagree with this statement for the following reasons below. To begin with, although richer people in recent years become more popular and respected, it is inaccurate to say these people achieve personal worth. Specifically, someone who has abundant funding and does not share his or her wealth is going to be seen as a selfish person. Thus people neither like nor respect them. However, wealthy people who serve society via charity can receive admiration and reputation. Bill Gates, for instance, is the most respectable and richest person in the world, this is because he loves to do philanthropic work. Therefore, personal value is not determined by wealth, it is largely dependent on positive personalities. Alternatively, it is undeniable that although traditional values such as honour and kindness seem to be forgotten nowadays, they still play a crucial role in our society. It is a fact that many employers are still assessing their potential employees based on their hard-working attitude and their integrity. At the same time, businessmen are still looking for partners who are reliable, dependable and friendly. Hence, it is undoubted that these old-fashioned values are still vital in our daily life when we are working and cooperating. In conclusion, I entirely believe that these values such as kindness and trust cannot be eliminated from our daily lives.