In many places, people's lifestyle is changing rapidly and this affects family relationships. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The fact that people’s lifestyle is changing rapidly and it influences the connection between family members is becoming a debatable issue in society these days. As far as I am concerned, this matter has both favourable and unfavourable effects, but the negative sides far outweigh the positive ones. On the one hand, it is hard to deny that this issue will bring some beneficial results. Firstly, it can be seen that most modern parents tend to be more open-minded in educating children, which leadS to a good understanding between parents and children. It is apparent that in the current developing society with advances in ways of thinking, parents prefer making friends with their children to being a strict mother or father, and this breaks the barrier between parents and children. Another point to mention is that technological breakthroughs have changed our lives, the smartphone has been one of the greatest inventions of humans. It should not be forgotten that thanks to smartphones we can be connected to people anywhere, and overseas students can easily keep in touch with their family and friends. On the other hand, despite these above desirable impacts, I am convinced that this issue has more distinctive drawbacks. Firstly, those who oppose it may maintain that the preference for the nuclear family instead of an extended family expands the generation disparity. There is ample evidence to suggest that children in a nuclear family show less respect to the elders and find it difficult to harmony with them.The second point is that the abuse of smartphone or social networking sites in children and even adults make family life more monotonous.It is easy to see that family members spend less time talking to each other as they have their own world, WHICH is not a good APPROACH to building a happy family. In conclusion, considering the pros and cons of this matter, I am certain that the demerits are more prominent than the merits.