Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are many traditional or religious festivals around the world. However, in modern society, some people have forgotten the meaning behind them and their focus is on enjoying themselves. It is clear that individuals should not forget the reasons of those festivals and they need to try to pass onto the next genelations generation how to celebrate them. The first aspect to point out is that it is a fact that some enjoy drinking alcohol or taking drugs during the festival period. Although some religious people are not allowed to consume those substances, the young tend not to follow their religious rules due to the trends in society. Thus, this can be a problem when it comes to respect their religions. Additionally, if they are intoxicated, they might have issues with others, which is disrespectful towards their religions. However, it could be suggested that the onus is on adults to educate the young on the reasons of having those festivals and how to behave during the period. It is also children's responsibility to follow their traditions but they need to be taught about their religions. If adults teach them about the reasons of festivals, children will try to preserve the traditions and show their respect. This respect towards their religion will help the young to be well-behaved throughout the festival period. To conclude, each person should not forget the reasons of traditional or religious festivals in order to preserve their identities. Adults need to have a time to discuss about their religions with their children during the festival period because this might help them to appreciate their traditions.