Children experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning of a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantage of this outweigh the disadvantages?

So important has the phenomenon of early-stage second language introduced to the children. I personally believe that this trend has more positive. This essay will discuss this statement analyzing both sides of the arguments that lead to this issue. To begin with, regarding the positive effects, children in primary have a greater capability to learn a new language as compared to elders. It is piece of cake for them to memorize the native English pronunciation. Furthermore, children who learn a second language at in early age will have incredible opportunities to travel around the world and get to know other cultures, thus they able to communicate with more people from different countries. For instance, children who learn the Japanese language might know about the customary to say “Itadakimasu” before eating and “Gochisosama deshita” after eating. However, we should not ignore that the viewpoint has drawbacks. Going to school, doing assignments, participating in extra-curricular activities are moment-consuming activities for students in elementary school. If they are subjected to a foreign language, it will pressurize them and cause psychological illness. Moreover, bilingual children might be confused with their mother tongue as usually use the foreign language. For example, we sometimes see that the children growing up outside Indonesia have difficulty conversing with their homeland family. To conclude, while this issue seems negative for some reasons, I would argue that studying a second language at a young age is beneficial it helps in brain development and acquiring fluency.