A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a spurce of problems if it is not well-managed. what are the advantages and disadvantaged of tourism in the modern world?

In many countries around the world, tourism makes up 57 per cent of their financial income. As beneficial as this may seem tourism has some drawbacks to be considered. The question that remains is whether the advantages outweigh the disadvantages or not? This will be explained in further detail in the upcoming paragraphs.,One evident advantage of travel is that it allows people to explore new cultures and learn more about their history and traditions, in other words, meet diverse groups of people, which can lead to improving self-development. Another reason why is advantageous is that profit earned from tourism can be reinvested into the country for better infrastructure, education, and creating more ways of touring. A recent survey by the ministry of finance found that in the past five years tourism has contributed tremendously to lowering some regions budget deficit On the contrary, there are obvious disadvantages to tourism. Firstly, it can increase environmental pollution rates due to touristic activities and projects conducted to attract as many travellers as possible. Moreover, the tourism industry can inadvertently sustain itself without aiding other sectors. As such, many countries develop tourism hot spots while the rest of the country suffers leading to socioeconomic gaps between the wealthy and the poor. Due to the United Nations World Tourism Organization's last study released in2019, countries that are highly dependant on touristry suffer from economic recession if an unprecedented pandemic or natural disasters occur. In conclusion, while touristry can expand peoples' horizons and increase job opportunities, hence lowering the rates of unemployment, it can also cause more damage if not well-managed. Therefore, it is vital to weigh the advantages and disadvantages before investing in the touristry industry and depending immensely on it to revive a country's economy.