Many young people today know more about international pop or movie stars than about famous people in the history of their own country. Why is this? What can be done to increase young people's interest in famous people in the history of their country?

The young generation is believed to know better about prominent pop stars or well-known actors than about their own country’s historical figures. This essay will suggest that the lack of History education is the root cause of this phenomenon and submit that a public awareness campaign is the most viable solution, followed by a reasoned conclusion. The principal cause of poor understanding of historical figures is because History is being neglected in the school curriculum. As technology progresses, science-related subjects like Math and Physics are being prioritized over History, which results in poor knowledge of the past cultures and events. For example, in Viet Nam, the studying schedule is typically packed with Math and Physics classes, leaving almost no space for students to learn about history. Therefore, History is only taught once or twice a week, which is obviously inadequate for the young to enhance their knowledge about famous people from the past. The most practical solution to this problem is a government sponsored awareness campaign. An effective advertising campaign could really urge the young to learn about history during their spare time as a hobby, and hopefully raise awareness amongst the young generation. For example, the United Kingdom recently lobbied their young citizens to learn about historical figures and appreciate their sacrifice as well as their dedication. This has resulted in a dramatic improvement of young people’s knowledge about history. In summary, the young’s poor understanding about historical figures has been caused by the lack of History classes in the educational system. However, this can be tackled through a public educational programme that promotes the importance of history.