In many countries, people now wear western-style dress such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In the present, with the advance of technology, many sub development countries have been influenced by other nations not only in relation to foods and art but also in the way of using clothes. Certainly, clothes can demonstrate plenty of the culture of some people. There are many causes to this issue and this progress tends to be a negative development. First and foremost, due to globalization and urbanization associated with technological facts, a variety of famous and international clothes companies are able to reach many customers and any part of the world. Therefore, a part of the population is influenced by brands outside of their own country. For instance, in contemporaneous cities such as New York and Toronto, the Dior Brand is extremely famous and used by a variety of people. Secondly, regardless of personality and preferences, most people tend to emulate others in relation to behaviour and way of wearing some piece of clothing just in order to feel good. Moreover, famous celebrities and personalities are able to promote specific brands of clothes resulting in a massive number of new customers. Take as an example the event Oscar when actress across the red carpet which leads to many women in any part of the globe desire the same dress to wear in another occasion. And last but not least, this progress tends to be a negative development since it means a loss of traditional culture and a loss of identity/ personality. For example, oriental women would rather wear occidental dresses just to feel part of society, in this case, the occidental society. Furthermore, another remarkable fact about this assumption is that some young girls prefer to wear some piece of clothing just to follow the rules of the community instead of wearing it to feel stunning and good. In conclusion, globalization may promote different habits and traditions in any society since it can reach a massive number of individuals. Clothes, foods and art may tell the history of the country and depending on the situation, the results can be negative progress.