Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes, and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

The human race sometimes imagines that when young people are allowed a great deal of freedom in making decisions related to their aspirations the result is a self-interested community whereas the alternative outlook is that it is essential for them to decide their own affairs. This essay will discuss both viewpoints. I argue that the first idea is less important than the second. view point The first view on kids' choices being limited by their parents can be explained in terms of the old adage which states that old habits die hard. Hence, when a kid is used to buying their own food and clothes or only focusing on their desired cartoons, they grow up with these practices and fail to integrate into their schools, workplaces, and future communal dwellings where teamwork and compromise will be expected from them. For example, a British firm recently invested in team-building workshops after finding out that its staff were not good at making the necessary friendships required to render the company successful. Many of these people said the problem is the way they were socialised into closed self-centred circles. On the other hand, however, the second view also makes sense because once the young are prevented from having a say in their present and futures, they become overly dependent on others which is more problematic because it leads to reduced innovation and hard work in the entire population. Giving them the right to make their own choices means helping them to perfect their critical thinking skills and this is for the betterment of future societies. For instance, with the coming of a new law that aims to protect national interests in Hong Kong, many schools have expressed fears that they will be prevented from producing critical thinkers as their students will be forced to memorise standard content from the curriculum without offering their own views. Conclusively, therefore, I am inclined to the perspective that a child must be allowed to decide their life than to be given boundaries. This is because while looking out for other people can create virtues like team building and compromise, these become useless when that outgoing and thoughtful kid holds no worldview of their own. They become useless for the globe as they cannot contribute anything unique.