Some people think that music lessons aren’t important and that children should pay more attention to science. Do you agree or disagree?

Although some individuals consider music lessons as an irrelevant school subject implying that children should focus more on science I personally disagree with this idea since it helps combat stress and advance adolescents’ erudition. Firstly, it is common knowledge that music is the main tool against depression. Take singing as a prime example of a way it releases stress. Today many students are under tremendous pressure from social and academic points of view; as a result, they are constantly under enormous stress. Therefore, if parents insist their offspring prioritize scientific subjects over music lessons, it will certainly deteriorate their frames of mind and academic achievements since they will be negatively impacted due to their unstable condition. Consequently, not only does singing boost their mood, but it also helps to cope with anxiety. Secondly, studying music elevates the mind and evolves intellectual skills by virtue of the fact that every piece has its own language and background behind it. To be more precise, when children are rehearsing overseas songs, automatically the area of their brain related to language develops and it imprints essential information on young minds. The song ‘Katusha’ is a vivid example where learners can obtain the Russian language along with significant insights regarding the time of the Second World War. In summary, unarguably, science is a vital school subject for a school curriculum, yet it does not mean that music lessons should be neglected by students inasmuch as it maintains their psychological state in concert with their intellect.