Nowadays, entertainers get paid more than politicians. What are the reasons for this? Is this a negative or positive development?

These days, thanks to the development of the entertainment industry and digital technology,celebrities tend to have higher incomes than politicians. As far as my opinion is concerned, I believe this situation should be considered as a positive trend because politics should not be a profitable business. In the upcoming paragraphs, I will provide a detailed explanation of my point of view. First of all, internet technologies and rapidly emerging social media channels make the entertainment industry a lucrative business. Therefore, it is expectable that salaries of workers in this field also witness a boosting growth. For example, some bloggers on Youtube can earn more than a blue-collar worker in the same country, making this sector highly tempting to join. Secondly, famous artists and showmen can aim for bigger wages without public scrutiny, whereas politicians may neglect their primary duties to protect and increase public wealth if they pursue profitable goals. Subsequently, this behaviour can lead to misconduct which is not accepted in modern society. At the same time, the job of politicians is vital to the needs of society, while entertainment may not be necessary if the public faces an economical crisis o other hardships. That is to say, an official of any government body should earn a decent level of income in order to perform their duties with dignity and diligence. Otherwise, there is a high risk of corruption which can be seen in various developing countries across the globe; the political leaders on top positions profit by depriving the society of their legally obtained funds, and once those politicians accumulate enough money in their accounts they prefer to escape and leave their countries drawn in poverty. To conclude, even though there is a belief that government officers should be entitled to a higher wage than actors or artists, I think that they are bound by their legal status to put the needs of the public above their own, thus, the wealth of their nation should be always a priority for them.