In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, unemployment is the most serious problem in some countries where graduates who have high qualifications are still struggling to secure a job. This essay will discuss a number of reasons for this phenomenon and measures that can be taken to overcome this situation. First, the predominant factor for highly qualified graduates not getting a job is because of the quota available in certain employment sectors is inadequate to occupy the number of graduates leaving colleges in a year. Take an example in the medical sector. Studies have been proven that more than half of the graduates in a year apply to become doctors. As a result, the application for this job became highly competitive and most of the graduates are forced to a situation to be unemployed. Another important reason for graduates without jobs is their own lacking of strong personality traits. Most employers look for candidates who acquired exceptional soft skills apart from academic achievements. For example, a graduate who has good communication skills and IT skills are more likely to be employed and those who only have high grades will mostly be rejected by the employer. In my opinion, there are a number of solutions to this problem. Firstly, the government and private sectors should increase the job quota to provide more opportunities for graduates. For instance, they can build more hospitals, schools and industrial companies which lead to more job openings in future. Besides, job applicants also play a vital role in overcoming this situation. They should prepare themselves to be competent and marketable by improving strong personalities which are required in the real workplace rather than just focusing on obtaining good grades in subjects. Moreover, graduates must be computer-literate and develop critical thinking as most industries are advancing in the aspect of technology. To conclude, even though the problems of unemployment are increasing in most countries, there are workable solutions that can be done to combat this situation. Taking the right course of action may benefit many graduates who suffer without a job.