One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Traffic congestion has become a main concern for numerous countries around the world. There are many reasons behind this problem, but possible measures can be implemented to handle this situation. There are major reasons for traffic jams. The first and foremost behind this is that the number of vehicle owners has increased immensely in the past few years leading to congested streets. According to an article published in a local newspaper, traffic congestion can last up to six hours in some seasons of the year. Secondly, poor infrastructure and undeveloped transportation in many cities oblige the people to choose private means of transportation over public ones. Last but not least, many cities are not built with proper planning and have very narrow roads which obstruct people from commuting. For example, most roads in Tunisia are not wide enough to ease movement therefore, they suffer from traffic jams most of the day. Certain measures can be taken in order to tackle the above. The quality of public transportation should be improved in order to enhance people to start using public transportation. In addition to this, fares of government transportation should be lowered in order to promote it. Another solution is to build bridges, and wide roads to avoid congestion in rush hours. Finally, people should be encouraged to use bicycles in separate cycle lanes. Let’s take Sweden and Amsterdam as an example, which are considered to be two of the most bike-friendly cities in the world. In conclusion, if the government developed the quality of public transportation, and some regulations were induced in planning roads and bridges, traffic congestion can be lowered to a great extent.