Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Certain individuals think that sad conditions like financial constraints and an unhappy work environment must be tolerated whereas the other outlook is that we must improve these conditions. I tend to conform to the latter view but both will be discussed in this essay. First, the only way of moving beyond an unpleasant situation is to accept it. Except this be achieved, one remains stuck in the past and unable to see any hope for the future. Secondly, coming to terms with it means finding ways of adapting and surviving in the present. For example, in one of his races, a prominent runner suddenly developed cramps on his feet. Instead of pushing too hard, he ran at a steady pace and emerged as the second -best in the competition. He attributed his second position result to keeping his head high and accepting his injury. On the other hand, however, it is not always the case that accepted situations will result in positive outcomes. It makes no sense for one to accept going to bed hungry on a daily basis. Also, a defeated mindset means failure to try again. Hence, it is better to fight very hard to change the ordeal and come out victorious. For instance, my wife refused to have an abortion despite the pain she was experiencing throughout her pregnancy. Had she not done that, she would be childless today. In conclusion, therefore, I argue that it is best to try to improve bad happenings as compared to giving up hope, like my wife who is a mother today because of her spirit of never accepting defeat. The foregoing perspective has been supported further in the essay discussion above.