The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

The growth of tourism has contributed to making English the predominant language worldwide. Many individuals believe that this could lead to English becoming the only spoken language globally. Although it has numerous benefits, such as easing communication across different cultures, there are also some drawbacks like the loss of local languages. One of the main advantages of having only one spoken language worldwide is that it makes communication between people from different countries much easier. That is to say, individuals from all over the world can comprehend each other conveniently. Many people find it difficult to communicate in another language. As a result, they fail to understand others, which creates confusion. One universal language would eliminate this barrier. For example, in today’s modernized world, if someone wants to convey their message in a local language, only limited people can understand it. Whereas if the message is in English, then everyone can comprehend it. Thus, one common spoken language would lead to many benefits. On the contrary, speaking only one language has some drawbacks, such as the disappearance of local languages and cultures. In other words, if everyone starts speaking English, then locally used languages might disappear. As a result, older people may find it difficult to understand foreign languages. Similarly, learning a new language would be hard for them due to age-related factors. In conclusion, while one spoken language worldwide has advantages, such as easier communication, it also has drawbacks, such as the disappearance of locally used languages and difficulties for older people.