Because of the global economy, many goods including what we use as daily basics produced by other countries have to be transported for a long distance.  To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the past few years, due to the global economy, goods which we use daily produced by foreign countries are being transported for a long distance. There are advantages to this, nonetheless, I believe the cons of this situation outweigh the pros. First and foremost, importing goods from long distances has its own good sides. More new products which are not available in most countries can be introduced to the local market. For example, there are certain types of fruits that are rare, like berries and these are only available in countries with cold weather. In addition, by purchasing international goods, the global markets are being expanded, therefore, more and more business partners are being produced. Yet, the pros do not seem to be a dominating factor. However, there are a couple of disadvantages of transporting items from outside for a long distance. Firstly, growing numbers of foreign products in a country affects the local brands. As a result, the business markets become highly competitive. To illustrate this, local products such as soaps and detergents are produced locally in a vast amount. Nevertheless, stores and markets with high reputations prefer to import foreign brands considering the quality of the products. Besides, transporting goods from distant causes surge in air traffic and pollution. For instance, the number of flights and trucks that are used to import and transfer increases and cause more air pollution which is catastrophic to the environment. To conclude, there are advantages of transporting goods from another region for a long distance which contributes to the country’s development. In spite of that, the negative sides outweigh the positive sides. Thus, authorities of a country should consider producing more local products to fulfil the demand of the market.