The only way to improve road safety is to impose severe punishment for driving offences. Do you agree or disagree?

Death by accident is the most unfortunate way of dying. Safety on the road is a very important topic of discussion. It is a shared responsibility of the person who is driving and the fellow who is walking to make sure that everyone is safe around them. Having strict laws for anyone who does not follow the road safety rules is important. There are drivers who enjoy a glass of wine or whiskey and then get on behind the wheels of a car. They are under the influence of alcohol and are like a ticking bomb ready to explode. They put multiple lived in risk. Only way to stop this is harsh punishments when cought. Then there are rash drivers, who do not believe in the speed limit and might put lives of persons walking on the road, in danger. At the same time, there are few examples, where it is actually not the drivers fault but passerby. The man walking on the road could be in real hurry and may have jumped the signal and walked when he was not expected to. In this case, it will not be apt to consider the driver responsible for the mishap. There may be some offenders with small crimes which may not cause any human any physical harm such as parking the car in a no parking zone or honking for some reason where its prohibited. In conclusion, the opinion that, only way to improve road safety is to have severe punishments seems to be a bit extreme in nature. According to me, it should depend on the damage that has been caused by the mishap and the circumstances around it.