Some people believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of it outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often thought that learning a new language other than mother tongue from early days of school life is more beneficial for children than starting learning it from the secondary level.In my opinion,as it helps master a language better and also stimulate cognitive development,these advantages far outweigh the basic demerit of language confusion. To begin with,learning a foreign language in primary classes helps the student to learn the language easily and in dept.Knowing an extra language will be a plus point in the adult life because,in this competitive world of globalisation, most employers prefer candidates with skills in multiple languages. Furthermore,when students study and use more than one language, it will helps to improve the overall cognitive function of the brain.That means,by using languages, once brain will function more leading to the overall development of the brain. For example, one of my friends,who has been brought up in a foreign country and studied three languages, namely Hindi, English and Arabic,from her childhood itself,has comparatively higher levels of IQ and she was the university top scorer in her postgraduation. However, there can be seenas a minor and solvable drawback for learning a foreign language from the primary school level.If a child is exposed to more than one language in the early stage of learning a language, the child might get confused between languages and it might affect a child's overall language development. Eventhoug there is a possibility of having language confusion, pieces of evidence of bilingual children with academic and communication excellence shows that this demerit is less significant. To conclude, although children may develop language confusion by learning a foreign language from primary schools,the intellectual development and early mastering of a new language are valuable compared to its minute demerit.