The government should take responsibility for their actions to the environment. To what extent do you agree?

We vote a certain ideology to the power thinking that they will deliver on the promises that they have made. Committment to the environmental issues is one such task in any state's progress card. They should be held accountable for any damage caused to the mother earth due to their policy decisions. At the same time, it is equally important to acknowledge any goof effort on their part to save our planet. Government is a set of ministers from various local areas, elected by the population, to achieve some goals. These representatives are expected to have sound knowledge of all the general issues and environment is one of those. One must keep nature as the centre idea before making any regulation. They must make sure that the decisions being made are not going to have an adverse effect on the earth. We are at a stage where any further damage to the earth is going to have a long lasting impact and can make this planet, not a suitable place to live, for generations to come. It is important even for us to make sure that current population actively participates in any environmental drive for the sake of next one's. We can not pass on the buck to local bodies by saying that we have selected them to make important decisions and now it is their sole duty to take care of impacts on the nature. Hence, I do not fully agree to the view that the government should take the full responsibility for their actions to the environment. According to me, it should be a shared responsibility between politicians and the normal people.