In some countries, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is quite common, that wards are being informed that they can accomplish whatever they desire if they put in some effort. This kind of information can help the kids to be courageous about their future, and venture into careers that they normally would not go into; however, it has to be balanced, because it can give a false sense of hope, and it can also cause discouragement in pursuing their dreams, if they encounter setbacks. First, giving wards the notion that they can become anything if they put in more effort helps' them to be bold. This is because children hold anything they are being told as true. For example, studies has shown that wards that were encouraged to put in more efforts turn out to take bold steps when they grow up. In addition, they tend to take calculated risk when they want to do things, which their peers wouldn't want to do. However, there is need for balance, because younger ones, with such knowledge can have a false sense of hope, if they are not adequately prepared to face life. Also, children can easily be demoralised when they realised that they actually failed at a venture they tried out, and therefore cause discouragement entirely. This can be shown in a case of a young friend that was told he could become whatever he want to be, and he tried to sing despite the fact that he doesn't have a good singing voice. He was booed while singing and he never tried to sing again. In all, it is quite necessary to encourage kids to challenge themselves to be better through hard work. This can help them become a better version of themselves and take encourages them to take chances at life; however, we need caution so that we don't create a mirage and cause them to be discouraged whenever they encounter failure in their endeavours.