Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's world, having own vehicle is such an important factor for daily life. Car owners have increased significantly for the past decades, this trend cause an effect on transportation problems in various cities in the world. This essay will discuss why the aforementioned statement is extremely true and put forward several solutions for this issue. To begin with, the population in many major cities has been rising and also the need for transportation too. in some countries, public transportation is not covered in some areas, so that using your own vehicle is quite a convenient way to transport. For example, In Bangkok, If someone's house is in a far deep alleyway, it is really difficult to call a taxi. consequently, the citizen has to use their private car instead. Furthermore, even though there is public transport which the fare is extremely cheap like buses in Bangkok, some people may hesitate to use them, because most of the drivers of those buses are careless and prone to cause an accident. These problems are some reasons why people have to use their own car and definitely cause the traffic jam. In Bangkok, especially in the morning or evening, people spend their time about 1-2 hours on the road. In order to solve the traffic problem, the government need to have a strategic plan for public transportation which should cover all the crucial area, especially the living zone and working zone. Moreover, the authorities should run a campaign that raises social awareness about the pollution from the vast number of cars on the road. Furthermore, the fare price of the public transport should not be expensive, a monthly ticket should be available. In conclusion, one of the problems in major cities is the traffic problem, the ruler should implement policies to alleviate this problem.