AS WELL AS MAKING MONEY, BUSINESSES HAVE SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITIES. DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

Business and profits go hand in hand. However, it is often believed that making money is not the only responsibility of a business. There are several social obligations as well. I agree with the statement. In this essay I will discuss the same. To begin with, large companies earn huge profits, and their job is not only to make money but to help the deprived sections of society. They should take it as a responsibility and spend some share of their profits to fulfil the basic needs of poor people. For instance, the charitable organisation by Bill Gates is doing great work in India and other parts of the world. There are more NGO's doing charity work. If they stop doing it, many people will not be able to have a meal even. Apart from this, big companies get a lot of benefits and privileges from the government, and hence they should repay it. This would help lawmakers to bring improvements to society. Multi-millionaires should come in with support in emergency times. For instance, recently Tata Group helped India by giving PM Care Fund huge amounts of charity. Therefore, corporate social responsibility is extremely important as this would contribute to making the world a better place to live in for everyone. In conclusion, although making money is the main motive of businesses, I believe that they have the social responsibility towards the whole nation and should spend a part of their profits on social services too.