In many countries, the government prioritises economic growth above all other concerns. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

In many nations, the administration emphasizes on economic prosperity above all other factors. This essay is going to discuss how the economic prosperity provides advantages such as income increase of citizens and improvement of lifestyles and disadvantages like income gap among citizens as well as dictatorship of governments. One of the biggest advantages of the economic growth is the improvement in citizen's income. Income of the citizen increases when the number of well paid jobs increases in the economy. As a result of the income increase, the happiness of the citizens will also improve. In addition, the income increase and infrastructure development such as bridges, subway will lead to improvement of lifestyles for the citizen. These infrastructural developments will enhance business and prosperity in economy. For example, Bangladesh current infrastructural development in Padma Bridge, which cost $100 billion will yield to $1 Trillion every year once the bridge opens. On the other hand, one of the disadvantages of the economic growth via capitalism is the income gap between riches and poors. This income disparity is growing due to the fuel of capitalism, which is only increasing the number of rich people worldwide. Furthermore, economic prosperity depends on the sustainability of the governments. As a result of the governments long-term sustainability is imposing threat to democracy. For instance, Bangladesh’s current government is in power for over10 years without an election, which has hurt democracy, whereas significant economic growth has been achieved, according to The Daily Mail of England. In conclusion, the sustainability of the government surely helps in the economic growth and can improve citizen’s lifestyles up to a certain extent. But, the democracy could be lost in the process.