Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?”

A child is often careful when it takes the first steps. But once the baby learns to walk without any support, it stops to worry about the hardships that it took earlier. Similarly, a seasoned criminal would think twice before committing his first crime and the possible impacts of his actions. But when he serves the punishment for the first time and is out of the jail after that, he thinks that he is not going to be killed, for doing the same act again. This is where he grows in confidence. This is purely because of human psychology. A human is mostly afraid of death. It can be a death by accident, natural death or a death penalty. Most of the countries in the world are against giving the capital punishment for even the most serious acts of crime. They respect the right to live of a serial offender on humanitarian grounds and criminals take undue advantage of that. In a country where I come from, we hang people till death, only in rarest of rare cases. The last time when death penalty was given was few years ago where four people had gangraped a girl in the most brutal manner. Otherwise, all the people proved guilty are serving life imprisonment. To make sure that the culprits are afraid of even the simplest of punishments, the hardships in jail need to be more. One must fear even the thought of going behind bars. Severity of punishment should also take into consideration the number of occassions the crime has taken place. There should be no bails granted once the person has been proven guilty. To conclude, I would say, it is important to have fear of law in commoners but at the same time it is eqally necessary to do the councelling of all the inmates so that they take the better route to life once they are out of the jail, never to cross paths with crime.