Some people think the the main purpose of schools is to turn children into good citizens and workers, instead of benefiting them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered that making pupils ideal citizens and enabling them for employment is the prime intention of educational institutions disregarding personal objectives. In my perspective, social and vocational skills directly or indirectly provide learners with something for their advancement, there is no need to incorporate anything extra. Undoubtedly, schooling is the foundation of a sensible and responsible personality. As virtues such as loyalty, sympathy and empathy if instilled at a tender age have more prospects of staying till the end, it is important to teach those skills following guided learning at school. When these characteristics become a part of one's behaviour, it benefits the individual as well to survive in society. To illustrate, well-behaved people would attract the attention of others and everyone would want to establish a cordial relationship with them, which in return would give them psychological contentment protecting them from ailments such as depression, anxiety and bipolar. Hence, it is of utmost importance to make children good citizens instead of focusing on personal advantage. Another central goal of schools is to generate a workforce. Since parents enrol their children to secure their careers, preparing them for being breadwinner appears significant too. If learning centres instead of focusing on generating employees, start providing subjective privileges, not only school-goers but the society also has to suffer a great loss. This means there would be a scarcity of eligible hands bringing suffering for both employment seekers and employers. A corroboration of this could be taken from the article published in “the Hindu” that suggested, although there are vacancies in numerous multinational companies, the underlying rationale behind unemployment in developing nations is the lack of suitable candidates. Had these countries added vocational training to the curriculum, such issue may not stem. To conclude, I reiterate that the very first motive of educational institutions is limited to making children ideal dwellers and employees for certain reasons which benefit them autonomously, therefore, no attention is required for individual profit.