Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative impact on children. To what extent do you agree?

A popular opinion is that the coverage of celebrities in the media affects children in a negative way. From my point of view, this is a logical conclusion from the following observations. Social media is already used by young children. Furthermore, these young children were not educated in distrusting information seen on the internet. As result, they often take everything what they see for granted. Celebrities promote an unrealistic life style, or try to sell overpriced products. Having a different life style leaves the young humans to desire the unreachable. Moreover, they demand from their parents to buy the advertised products, and they become frustrated if they do not get them. for example because of financial constraints. Traditional print media covers celebrities, too, but the style is very different from social media. Usually, pictures are taken of the celebrities, and a story is constructed, exaggerating an event. Having choosen the wrong color for the clothes, or having gained some weight are the trivial reasons for such texts. As consequence, young children learn that it is normal to judge people based on such things. Of course, they then integrate this into their own social interaction. And last, celebrities appear on TV, for example in talk shows. Like on social media, they are hyped because of their life style, or whatever news they have to tell. The main purpose of it is selling something, and children often fall for it. In summary, I think that a negative effect on children is caused by the media coverage of celebrities. In order to support my point of view, I gave examples from social media, traditional print media and TV which can result in influencing children in the wrong direction.