Although, in today's society, it is looked upon as favorable to donate our time and our money to help others in need, awareness of each action should be just as important, even when actions are guided by the best of intentions.

“Happiness Is Found Helping Others”- this is a very common phrase and can be found in any setting - family, school and religion. Scientific research (also) provides compelling data to support it. Effectively, giving is a powerful pathway to personal growth and lasting happiness. There is “a strong relationship between volunteering and health: those who volunteer have lower mortality rates, greater functional ability, and lower rates of depression later in life than those who do not volunteer” (…). People to be happy though need to see the effects their actions have on others. The reason is that many aspects regarding charity and volunteerism are not taken into consideration such as “Poverty porn” and “White Saviour Complex”. Certain actions could therefore cause damage, because "Giving" may not help the other person, but only help the donor to have a clear conscience. Although, in today's society, it is looked upon as favorable to donate our time and our money to help others in need, awareness of each action should be just as important, even when actions are guided by the best of intentions.