Nowadays, more people are choosing to socilise online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the age of the internet, more and more people using social media and social networking applications to communicate instead of socializing in person. Although I believe that this is a positive development for the individuals, I think it has negative impacts on societies. With regards to individuals, the result of more online communication is positive for people. Firstly, people with mutual interests gather together through online platforms from all over the world, while in the past people rarely had the chance to meet someone from outside of their community and immediate circle. Secondly, individuals who spend more time on online communication spend less time and energy in relation to the face to face meetings. People do not have to travel to meet their friends and family members, so they have more chances to communicate with each other. On the other hand, the impact of this development on societies and local communities can be seen as negative. When more people prefer social networking, face to face communication reduce in the local communities. Consequently, there would be fewer close and supportive relationships in the community. Furthermore people instead of fulfilling their social need for their relatives face to face choosing some person rarely had the chance to meet one day which makes society  more disjointed. In conclusion, although in the modern world online communication instead of  in-person  socializing is  beneficial for individuals, there are some drawbacks for society.