As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do you think the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

Recently there is an upward trend that the quantity of cars for personal use goes up dramatically. It has been a debatable question whether an increasing number of individual vehicles has an adverse impact on the environment. From my perspective, although cars pose a threat to the environment, citizens’ lives are more convenient and easier with their own cars in daily lives.   Some people are strong advocates that the environment are damaged seriously in recent 200 years due to the development of auto manufacturing. In other words, emissions of greenhouse gases such as carbon dioxide and mercuries from vehicles are quite higher than people expect, which cause noxious air pollutions throughout the world. Furthermore, more citizens have lung diseases because of bad air quality; therefore, people’s life expectancies are shorter, meanwhile, the folks will not have a great sense of happiness if it is difficult for them to see the blue skies mostly. By contrast, in most cases, others assert that cars make people’s life more flexible and comfortable. There is no more limitation of distances with cars; therefore, citizens could choose places of living wherever they want according to their preferences. More importantly, the inventions of electric cars might change ways of people’s lives and improve the environment moderately. For instance, Tesla is the largest clean energy company that manufacture electric cars. It became well-known within a time span of ten years because it provides magnificent environment -friendly electric cars for citizens.   In a word, the environment is damaged moderately because of an increasing number of cars. However, the development of electric cars could decrease the emissions of harmful gases. Meanwhile, people can enjoy themselves in their spare time due to more flexibility by their own cars.