Some schools start teaching a foreign language in primary school years. Do the advantages of teaching foreign languages to young children outweigh its disadvantages?

These days, an increasing number of schools emphasize on learning the foreign languages at an early age. Although this trend has some drawbacks, I would argue that there are more benefits On the one hand, learning a forgein language at primary school might have some disadvantages. Firstly, the option to start learning a new language early could be a waste of children ’s time. Instead of focusing on other subjects such as math, physical or biological, they might need to spend time on foreign language. Secondly, primary students are not ready to acknowledge a new language in educational institutions, they cannot understand the real meaning of many aspects of language as they are not mature enough. Thus, It could be difficult to encourage children to learn something new besides their main subject. On the other hand, I believe that it is more beneficial for students to learn a new language as soon as possible. One evidence is that it is important for children to learn foreign languages to create more employment opportunities in the future. It means that languages are as important as math and science. Furthermore, children can enjoy learning language through games in english class with their friends or classmates. Another reason is that children learning a new language besides their mother tongue could be more active and positive than those who don’t have bilingual ability. It is scientifically proven that a majority of children studying a foreign language could learn quickly and adaptability in their school. Another point worth noting is that children could easily communicate in special cases.A good example of this is when children travel abroad with their parents, they can communicate with foreigners when they are lost or want to make a new foreign friend. In conclusion, it seems to me that the advantages of learning a new language at primary school are more significant than the disadvantages. I believe many schools will include a foreign language in their subject as a vast advantage it has to offer.