Movies and computer games containing violence are popular. Some people say they have a negative effect on society and should be censored. Others say they are just harmless relaxation. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It has long been a subject of discussion whether entertainment depicting violence should be censored or not. In order to see whether the former notion outdoes the latter, we need to look at both sides of the argument and then I will give my own opinion that why sensible measured are required for media. On the one hand some individuals believe games and movies are the major factors of enjoyment. They are also part of one’s social life. One can easily enjoy and spend some quality time with family and friends. For example, after a long day at work or school, young ones watch movies and play games either with friends or alone. This helps them to relax their mind. Furthermore, those films contain violence, give an insight into the crime and fiction world. People who watch these movies not only get to enjoy but also educate themselves, by knowing how the criminals work and how to prevent a crime. Similarly, children who play violent and military games, have described that they have better knowledge, how the police and military work. Notwithstanding the aforementioned rationalisation, games and movies which contain violence are not without concerns. The primary one stems from the fact that people really get manipulated by movies. They use their imaginations and try to apply the same scenario in their real life, which led them to do crimes, inspired by movies. A recent example of this was a Philippine thief who planned a heist just like a Netflix series "Money Heist". He was a big fan of that web series. Moreover, just like movies, games containing violence leave a negative impact on adolescents' minds. Since children’s minds are like sponges, it’s easy for them to absorb the information which they see and read, and whenever they come across a similar situation in real life, they behave just like models which they play in games. An example of this can be seen in America, on different occasions of the school shootings, children used "Call of Duty" game models and styles. In conclusion, even though these movies and games are sources of entertainment but their role in spreading violence in society is greater because people get the motivation for crimes from them. Therefore, these movies and games must be censored to some extent and sensible measures are needed to make them available in public.