Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The science of food is an interesting area of study for individuals to catch a glimpse of or even to retain deeper knowledge on how food can be paired and cooked. Some people believe that food science should be taken seriously by becoming a core subject at school along with math and literature, others think that this study would not contain relevant information for future development. In this essay, I would discuss both views and argue that school subjects should not include food science. On the one hand, food science is quite valuable for people, as humans eat on a daily basis to live and work. By having a large knowledge about food preparation, students would be more accurate in pairing different ingredients, as well as to avoid food poisoning. For instance, Vietnamese people who live in coastal areas always consume an excessive amount of live seafood along with beer, which is an unhealthy combination that would eventually cause gouts. Therefore, a number of people who suffered from gout were because of a lack of food science knowledge that they had never been taught. If they had a chance to learn how to properly prepare seafood in high school, they could reduce the effects of the disease. However, students should be more focused on existing core subjects rather than learning about food. As a matter of fact, mathematics, literature and physical education for example must be emphasised in order to develop problem-solving skills and maintain a healthy body for juveniles. In addition, drawing and singing are also considered to be essential in providing creativity. These subjects are more beneficial for every student as they play key roles in individuals' cognitive development. In conclusion, teaching scientific knowledge about food allows students to fully understand how to cook, however this information can now be achieved from books or the Internet. I believe that there is more crucial ability acquired from other units that help students develop social skills and perform better in society.