Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

There are those who believe that increasing jail sentences subsequently decrease the crime level. On the other hand, the rest of them suggest we can find a most appropriate solution. While prisons have undoubted advantages, of which criminals are isolated, they have significant drawbacks, most notably appalling conditions and relapse. Historically, felon isolation was the most reliable method. On the one hand, cages are quite humane regarding other punishments which were constantly practised in the middle ages. It allows people to take a second attempt in their lives. Also, prisoners allowed to work and earn money subsequently develop the economic. For instance, men could be manufacturing workers and produce metal goods in turn, women could be dressmakers. Despite the advantages, the majority of prisons are incredibly old. Dirty and unacceptable jails could contain an enormous number of people. Such a dreadful environment could cause substantial harm and provide phycological depression. Additionally, ‘dog-eat-dog’ relationships between their pear group could be so tense that could possibly cause conflicts. For example, arguing about beds or food. A further disadvantage is recidivism, as we marked before, prison is a psychological pressure on a daily basis. That means, people are adapting to the cruel environment and in the future after their inevitable release can’t live in a normal society. As a result, a broken mind will try to find a way to his comfort zone consequently next crime will appear. In conclusion, while prisons are advantageous for society, it has some important disadvantages, in particular broken fates and relapse. If countries can invest in the development of the prison system, then some of these problems can be lessened.