Social media has completely changed the way family and friends communicate with each other. What the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Recently, there is no doubt that social media has made a significant change in how family and friends communicate with each other. While there might be a few downsides to this development, I believe that it is a positive development. To begin with, the first reason for this development is that social media is available for everyone and easy to use. This is because all social media platforms can be used through smartphones, and these platforms have friendly interfaces and guides that allows anyone to instantly connect with their family and friends. The second reason is that social media enabled people to talk face-to-face with others regardless of the fact they are in different locations and time zones. The reason for this is that it is possible to make video calls with anyone thanks to high-speed internet connections. For instance, in my country, many people communicate with their family members who are working overseas through the Facebook Messenger application. In my opinion, the widespread of social media is a positive development because it can play a crucial role in our lives in the case of unusual events. To illustrate this, because of the current pandemic, all countries imposed travel restrictions and lock-downs. Nonetheless, people were able to stay in touch with others, and check up on their family and friends thanks to social media. As a result, many people were able to cope up with this current hardship because there were able to talk to their loved ones while they were not able to leave their homes. In conclusion, social media has changed the way people communicate with others because it is convenient for everyone and allows people to virtually meet each other. In my opinion, I believe it is a positive development because it can mitigate the effects of hard times.