some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that school curricula should include association work, and pupils ought to do it free of charge. This essay will show that such experience at school can be beneficial for children as they learn to be better community and more responsible citizens of their country. Undoubtedly, volunteering teaches family to empathise with others, not to be indifferent to others’ needs and lend a hand to strangers when it is needed. It is crucial that children acquire these qualities at a very early age, and schools can provide a great opportunity to do that. Looking from my vantage point, I can say that the school where I used to study made me a kinder, more considerate person when my fellow pupils and I participated in a special programme that was aimed at helping older folk do housework. Many educators around the world claim that it is important to make even young children aware of the fact that they are citizens of their country, and that they have their rights and responsibilities. public service can certainly raise this awareness by showing that even very young society can improve the world around them. For example, in my hometown in Russia, schoolchildren are encouraged to collect recyclable materials such as plastic, paper and glass, and everything that is collected by them accounts for three-quarters of all recyclables in the region. In conclusion, unpaid labour for the sake of a better neighbourhood has many advantages such as learning to be caring to others and to be in charge of what happens in one’s community. While some countries such as Russia have partly adopted society service for their curricula, more countries can incorporate this element in theirs in the future.