Some people regard video games are harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others believe that video games are having an adverse effects on the people who play them. Do the drawbacks outweigh the benefits?

Today, in this era, video games gain popularity among youngsters and a lot of people. Although it is true that video games have a positive impact on the players, I do believe that video games will be more likely to influence the players in numerous detrimental ways. While there are benefits to playing video games, this essay will argue that the drawbacks outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, people love video games as they are a form of entertainment and education from a perspective point of view. As a form of recreation, gamers can relieve themselves from stress and their tiring lives temporarily thanks to the captivation of video games as they are able to engage with different emotions such as excitement and anger, trying to uplift their rank in the games. From an educational perspective, these games can somehow enhance a person’s decision-making skills, creativity and concentration. These skills are used simultaneously during the games and so it is said that gamers can make a decision with logical thinking within a short time and have a really high concentration on their work in real-life activities. All these examples prove that games can be helpful in a person’s daily life. However, I would argue that these advantages are outweighed by disadvantages, one of which is that users can be highly addicted to the games. They continuously give tasks to raise the players’ levels and provide awards for completing a rank and as a consequence, users forget and no longer care about their daily activities. These days, many children spend their time playing video games for hours and hours and so they are deprived of sleep and their educational development starts to decline sharply, which will clearly shatter their future lifestyles. Moreover, the longer the time that they sit on their chair, playing video games, the unhealthier players become so that the obesity of the video gamers is said to be relatively high. In conclusion, it seems to me that the adverse effects of video games are much more significant than the advantages.