Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweight the disadvantages?

Today using state-of-the-art technologies such as cellphone voice recorder and security camera for controlling peoples’ behaviour are increasing that in numerous situations individuals are not aware of it. This essay will outline both pros and cons and followed by my own take on this matter. On the plus side, the advantages of monitoring people without their awareness are manifold. To begin with, this would decline crimes. Simply put, governments and policies can find offenders quickly by using cellphone tracking as they have access to everyone detail and setting security cameras in cities. Take an accident as an example, the guilty driver may leave the crime sense but with the cameras in the streets, police are able to deter them. Moreover, people might install security cameras to protect their properties in their homes. In this way, they would increase safety and avoid robbery. However, the downside cannot be ignored. Being unaware about controlling would destroy individuals’ privacy. In fact, it destruct’s peoples’ calmness because they feel they are under the pressure of these devices which monitor them. Furthermore, people consider these cutting-edge technologies as abuse. In other words, they are concerned about their secrets and data that could be evolved so that others can abuse this information in various ways. For instance, asking for money for extorting. In conclusion, monitoring people through some gadgets in places where people are unaware of it can be both rewarding and problematic, Although I believe it may effects individuals privacy and create some abuse, it is beneficial in terms of providing security both for society and dwellers. Hence the merits overweight the drawbacks.