In some countries, people who commit less serious crimes are made to undertake community service* instead of a prison sentence. Some people believe that all people who have committed a crime should be sent to prison. Do you agree or disagree?

Jail has long been perceived as a common place for all kind of criminals. Nevertheless, some people hold the view that criminals should be made to do community work due to the severity level of the crime. To be honest, I agree with this idea to every extent and this essay will clarify my opinion. There are several reasons to go along with this idea. First and foremost, to some perspective, prison may not be the ideal place for educating the criminals. The fact remains that there are many of kind of criminals, ranging from murderers to drug sellers in the prison. Therefore, if less serious criminals are sent to jail, they’ll be inflected by those negative thoughts of the serious criminals, leading to more and more crimes. Take Vietnam as an example, almost every people commit less serious crimes after taking a prison sentence, they even commit more serious crimes than they used to. On that platform, when being in prison, they may endure bullying which may affect them both mentally and physically. As an inevitable result, revenge will be planned and crimes will be happened again. Those who object community work for less serious criminals may agree that when they are in the perfect environment - outdoor, the will escape and more crimes will be appeared. However, they should reconsider that working outside can help criminals interacting with good people. Consequently, their morale will change in the positive way. In conclusion, with all of those aforementioned reasons, taking community service should be used for criminals with less serious crimes instead of a prison sentence.