Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that pursuing academic studies is a safer approach for high school graduates than following vocational courses. However, I believe that students should be encouraged to attend practical courses to become qualified workers. There are several factors that make learning academic courses not a wise choice. One of which is that most employers have emphasized practical experiences rather than the knowledge from university. Indeed, people who used to have internships or training often have a higher salary than those who didn't. Besides, many people can’t get a job after they graduate from universities. This is because study programs in educational institutions are solely useful for those whose jobs will tip in favor of academic knowledge, but only a small part of the labour force can meet all demands of these jobs. As a result, many graduates are unemployed, while there is a shortage of qualified labour. By encouraging people to attend vocational courses, it will partly reduce this problem. There are a number of reasons why more people must be trained in manual work. Firstly, practical courses will provide all the necessary knowledge for learners to be able to work right away without any obstacles. This makes them more highly appreciated in the recruitment round, as employers often don’t want to retrain their workers. Secondly, nowadays, there is a lack of qualified workers as electricians and plumbers while the citizens’ demand for electricity and water services still increases. This will force companies to offer more attractive opportunities for the labour market to entice them to land for these jobs. In conclusion, becoming qualified manual workers will have many benefits in the future. It is clear that students should consider doing vocational training instead of attending universities.