Some people argue that the government should give every unemployed person a mobile phone and should make sure they have access to the internet. They believe this is the best way of using public money to reduce the problem of unemployment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often claimed that every jobless individual should be given a mobile phone and an access to the internet by the government. This is how the rate of joblessness will come to a decline state. To commence with, it is the government’s responsibility to help the population to get rid of unemployment which is the root cause of poverty. The first priority for the job seeker is information. Therefore, the internet here acts as a unique tool. Consequently, this is beneficial to every underprivileged person. Additionally, details of job vacancies and training schemes can be accessed within few minutes. Thus, saving a lot of money and time which would be spent on travelling to different institutes or buying newspapers. More importantly, the internet can be very useful in preparing for job interviews. Having a smart phone along with an access to the internet, people, nowadays, can easily work from home. So there is no need to pay the public transportation cost. As a result, work is done easily without any hassle or trouble. Small tasks include driving test, booking a hotel room for reservation, passport renewable process and many more. These are handled and dealt perfectly if one has the dedication and commitment to work. On the other hand, it’s going to cost whole another level of expense for government to give phones to every single person. For an instance, nation like India, with nearly 1.4 billion people, and growing unemployment rate will cost huge. Therefore, no one will want to go or do physical activities in case of getting the sources for free. Excuses are the only responses made by them. Another concern is the selection of employees by providing them with ideal job. So that each and every citizen will be given job based on credentials and academic performances. CVs, resumes and portfolios are the common proof of examples to get promotion. To conclude, I would like to suggest that rather than using public money on buying phones, the government must use that money to make factories or launching programs for non-working people of the country.