These days, people work in more than one job and often change career several times during their life. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Career progression is of pivotal importance in everyone’s life. The contentious argument that whether frequent switching between various jobs is beneficial or not erupts a heated debate among many. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of such practice, generally adopted by a person. The advocates believe that changing jobs is more advantageous than being stuck in the same place forever. Firstly, if a person grabs an opportunity, he will surely experience a boost in his remuneration which indeed is an added advantage because everything in this world can be bought with the money you have. For example, the incremental amount received can be invested to secure the future of the family. Secondly, one will get a chance to work on the new systems and technologies and expand his learning. According to a survey conducted by Harvard University, 60% of successful managers are those who have incessantly increased their professional learnings throughout their careers. On the other hand, the opponents, however, think that there are some disadvantages as well. Firstly, a new environment sometimes proves to be challenging. For example, one might not be comfortable enough to get along with the new people and thus end up having a cultural shock. Furthermore, you may lose all your reputation which you have built-in several years when you leave an organization. In other words, despite having a very good relationship with your peers, what happened when you would not be able to maintain effective contact with them? In conclusion, I firmly believe that the merits of acquiring new roles undoubtedly out weight’s the drawbacks and thus allow a person to learn more and achieve more in his life.